Jerzy Janowicz Shocks Lucas Pouille For Golden Opportunity At Wimbledon - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Jerzy Janowicz Shocks Lucas Pouille For Golden Opportunity At Wimbledon

Published

on

Jerzy Janowicz (zimbio)

Jerzy Janowicz knocks out the 14th seed Lucas Pouille 7-6(4) 7-6(5) 3-6 6-1 to advance to the third round at Wimbledon.

Heading into this tournament the World number 141 had lost to Franko Skugor in Eastbourne qualifying and started the match very well. It was clear the Pole had serious focus today as he whipped a forehand down the line in the first game. The two men had met once before in 2015 where Pouille won in two tiebreaks. This was expected to be no different as Pouille’s first serve was accurate and his net game was even superb. Pouille was the one threatening on return however no break points were created from the Frenchman as Janowicz continued to hit his powerful forehand groundstrokes. At 6-5 down, Janowicz twisted his ankle at the back of the court and looked in discomfort. However his confidence was restored as a couple points won meant a first set tiebreak was confirmed. The Pole came back from a mini-break early on, to claim the breaker 7-4.

The Second was pretty much the same as Janowicz increased his level in the second set as several opportunities were created for the Pole. Pouille’s shot making was better than his opponent though as the 14th seed managed to hang on despite the Janowicz pressure. Last year’s quarterfinalist was helpless on the Pole’s serve as Janowicz didn’t let any distractions get the better of him. A fourth consecutive tiebreak loomed between the pair as Pouille was cool and collected . Jerzy who was full of confidence, dominated most of the tiebreak and eventually sealed the set with a big serve. A two set lead, could Janowicz keep his nerve?

The third set saw Pouille change his style of play and tactics as he tried to unnerve the big Pole in front of an electric Court 3 crowd. His hardwork and determination earned him the first break of the match in the eighth game for a 5-3 lead. The big serving Pouille sealed the third set 6-3. Was this Dejavu of where Janowicz lost to Cilic in Melbourne from two sets up? Apparently not a focused Janowicz broke in the second game and roared to the crowd in attendance. Every point won had a different roar and scream about it this was a passionate and determined Jerzy Janowicz. A break of serve in the sixth game secured the Frenchman’s fate as Janowicz served for the match at 5-1. The Pole successfully served out the match to earn a famous victory.

The win means that Janowicz will climb to 109 in the world and his new focused attitude has earned him a third round match with Benoit Paire. A win seals his place in the second week and a possible match with Andy Murray.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending