Andy Murray - 13th of November 2014 - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Andy Murray – 13th of November 2014

Published

on

TENNIS ATP FINALS 2014 – Roger Federer d. Andy Murray 6-0, 6-1. Group A

Q. That must have been pretty tough to get through. Can you remember a harder night on court than that?

ANDY MURRAY: Yeah, it was a tough night. I mean, yeah, I’ve lost slam finals and stuff, which has been very tough. But in terms of the way the match went, yeah, it was not ideal from my side of the court   far from it.

Q. How much of it tonight was down to your own performance and how much was it down to Roger’s?

ANDY MURRAY: Well, he played exceptionally well. That’s for sure. I mean, I can say I’m disappointed with my level tonight. But if I played well, he probably still would have won anyway.

He was playing very well. He was striking the ball very, very clean. After the first few games of the match, yeah, he played exceptionally well. Made very few mistakes. Was hitting the ball off the middle of the racquet on serve, returns.

He maybe didn’t hit his first serve as well as he can, but apart from that everything else was very clean.

Q. At the end of the match he was two points from winning 6 0, 6 0. Did you care about him not doing that? Did you sense he wanted to do that? Was it bothering you he was continuing to hit dropshots, running around second serve returns all the way to the end?

ANDY MURRAY: Obviously, 6 Love, 6 Love, I mean, that’s never happened to me in my career. I don’t think 6 Love, 6 1 has maybe happened once to me before, obviously not often. So, yeah, it’s very disappointing, especially in a match like that.

I would have obviously hoped to have done a lot better than that. It wasn’t what I was looking for when I went on the court.

In terms of the nature of the match, when he’s extremely loose like he was tonight, he was obviously through in the group, he was able to, yeah, maybe try some shots that he might not try in other situations.

But everything he tried tonight came off. He has the ability to do that.

Q. Does a defeat like that do any damage to your confidence, especially as it’s the last match of the year? Do you put it aside as I’ve lost a match and move on?

ANDY MURRAY: I won’t be able to tell you that until I start the next year. I’m obviously not going to play again until then.

But it’s not a nice way to finish the year. But, I mean, I know there’s obviously a lot for me to work on now. I didn’t feel like I was playing that badly going into the match. I’d had some good wins the last few weeks. You know, had played decent against Milos.

So obviously in that respect I know I’m going to have to put in a lot of work on the tennis court, a lot of work in on my game. If I want to start the season, you know, with an opportunity to win in Australia, I’m going to have to put in a lot of work, that’s for sure.

Q. Is there any sense in looking back at this game and trying to analyze it or is it such a freakish match that you’re better off trying to forget it as quickly as possible?

ANDY MURRAY: I’m not going to try and forget it, no. When I think about what happened, I’ll try to use it    I’m not saying I’m not ever going to look at that match positively, but I need to use it as whatever. If it’s motivation for the off season, you know, to make some changes to things.

Whatever it is, clearly I need to make some adjustments to my game. Yeah, that’s the one positive is that I now have six, seven weeks before the next tournament. I have time to work on some stuff.

Q. I went through your heavy defeats in the past. You lost 11 times 6 0, but you were not matching in the following match after those defeats. You lost 6 1, 6 0 to Djokovic in Miami in 2007, semifinal. Since then, in 2008, you always played well. You shouldn’t be too worried about tonight.

ANDY MURRAY: Thank you.

Q. How do you feel it now?

ANDY MURRAY: Thank you.

I mean, the match against Novak was a bit different. I was a bit injured, that match. There was nothing wrong with me at all this evening. Slightly different in that respect. And also in these conditions, too, indoors, normally you would be hoping to hold serve more than once.

Yeah, I hope the beginning of next year doesn’t start off like that. I’ll do everything I can the next seven weeks to make sure that I’m better prepared, you know, to compete with the best players.

Q. Between now and the International Tennis League, what is your plan? Davis Cup next week. Will you switch off completely?

ANDY MURRAY: Ross’ wedding the next weekend. I’m the best man at his wedding. I have that next weekend.

I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do. But I would normally take a break just now. But I also need time to work on some things in my game and make improvements. So if I was to take a two week break just now, that’s 14 days where I can’t work on my game, make any changes in that period.

I’ll try to get back on the practice court probably sooner than I would have done.

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending