ATP Valencia: Murray saves 5 match points against Robredo, again - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

ATP Valencia: Murray saves 5 match points against Robredo, again

Published

on

TENNIS ATP VALENCIA – Andy Murray forced Tommy Robredo to relive the nightmare of the Shenzhen final lost a few weeks ago after failing to convert 5 match points. The Scottish player won the title in Valencia 3-6, 7-6, 7-6 in 3 hours and 23 minutes of play. With this win Murray climbs to 5th in the ATP Race to London

In the longest final of the ATP season, 3 hours and 23 minutes, Andy Murray won his third title of the year and his 31st overall defeating Tommy Robredo at the end of a long and intense match that saw the Spanish player fail to convert 5 match points, just like in Shenzhen. It was Murray’s 20th match after the US Open in his mad dash to try to qualify for the ATP Finals, a dash that he may well win now that he has added 200 points to his name climbing up to fifth in the Race Rankings.

Tommy Robredo took the first set breaking the Scot’s serve in the seventh game. Murray failed to convert any of the six break points in the first set, so the Spanish player won the opening set 6-3.

In the second set the two players traded breaks early on before going to a tie-breaker to decide the set. In the tie-break Robredo failed to convert a couple of match points and Murray then won the tie-break 9 points to 7.

The Spanish player was the first to break serve in the final set to go ahead 4-3, but Murray came back immediately forcing the match to a third set tie-break. Robredo had match points at 6-5, 7-6 and 8-7, but the British player saved all three before securing the title at the first opportunity with a backhand shot down the line.

At the end of the match both players fell to the ground exhausted before meeting at the net to shake hands. Robredo met the approaching Murray with his middle fingers raised prompting both player to laugh. For the second time Murray denied a title to Robredo despite 5 match points for the Spaniard.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbKXDGjHL5o

“I know it was an incredible match. The tennis at the end and in the second set was high level. I played well at the right moments.I like playing here. It’s a nice place to come this time of year. It’s extremely warm outside which is good for the muscles, the joints and the mind as well. I came to train here earlier in the year. Good food, good weather and good people.” was Murray’s comment after the match.

Robredo seemed to accept defeat gracefully, “It was an amazing match, and you have to enjoy it. Unfortunately someone has to win and it was decided by a few balls. It is what it is. Now I will be a bit out for a couple of hours but I guess that when I finish the season next week, and I watch today’s match against one of the best players we have right now, I will be very happy.”

Murray has now climbed up to fifth in the Race to London rankings where the first 9 players (Nadal will not play) will face each other in the end-of-season showdown. As the final Master 1000 of the season starts four places are still up for grabs

Race to London points, the first nine qualify for the ATP Finals

5. Murray 4.295

6. Nishikori 4.265

7. Cilic 4.150

8. Berdych 4.105

9. Ferrer 3.865

10. Raonic 3.840

11. Dimitrov 3.555

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending