Roland Garros: 'Disappointed' Sinner Excited About Future Alcaraz Rivalry After Semi-Final Heartbreak - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Roland Garros: ‘Disappointed’ Sinner Excited About Future Alcaraz Rivalry After Semi-Final Heartbreak

Jannik Sinner spoke about his rivalry with Carlos Alcaraz after his semi-final defeat at Roland Garros.

Published

on

(@usopen - Twitter)

Jannik Sinner is looking forward to his future rivalry with Carlos Alcaraz despite losing to the Spaniard in the Roland Garros semi-finals.

It wasn’t to be for the Italian as he lost to Alcaraz 2-6 6-3 3-6 6-4 6-3 in a gruelling five set match that lasted just over four hours.

The match didn’t provide the highest quality but it was Alcaraz who was more composed in the big moments as he reached his first Roland Garros final.

Despite the defeat it has been an encouraging week for Sinner who not only reached his maiden Roland Garros semi-final but also became world number one for the first time.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYxj0s-4Ers

Speaking after the match Sinner admitted he was ‘disappointed’ but is looking forward to improving his game, “Well, I think it was a great match. For sure the sets he won he played better in the important points, no? I think that was the key,” Sinner said in his press conference.

“Obviously disappointed how it ended, but, you know, it’s part of my growing and the process. Thinking back, before the tournament reaching this point, I’m obviously very happy. In the other way, I’m disappointed about the match today.

“Now I’m just keep looking forward to improve, to trying to do my best I can, and then we see what I can do in the future here in this tournament. If we watch the positive side, I have improved from last year, for sure. Yeah, there is another chance to play here for the Olympics. Then we see how it goes.”

It was a gruelling four hour match that tested Sinner’s fitness levels after entering the tournament with injury doubts especially with his hip.

However after the match Sinner revealed it was actually a problem with his hand and not his hip that was the problem, “Tension and after, cramps a little bit. I handled these situations a little bit better now,” Sinner explained.

“I had previous years a couple of, you know, of these kind of moments where I couldn’t handle them. If we watch that, I handled them a little bit better. It was quite early in the match. We didn’t play so much, so I was not worried about my body. Was keeping up quite well.

“No, the hip was okay. You know, so the match the more goes on, the right hip doesn’t have the strength of the left hip. It’s normal at this moment, no, so sometimes I feel a little bit, especially after two-and-a-half hours and until the four hours, but this is no excuse.

“I was moving good. I was feeling quite good on the court. So I’m not anymore worried about the hip. Just disappointed about how it went today. Just have to accept it.”

Sinner’s defeat to Alcaraz was their ninth meeting already with the Spaniard now leading the head-to-head 5-4.

Speaking on the match up with the Wimbledon champion, Sinner said the future is exciting as he looks to have more matches with the world number three, “But for sure, I mean, if we watch the results, you know, we always or most likely when we play against to play in the semis or final or quarters. Very important matches,” Sinner explained.

“I think that’s exciting for the game, especially when head-to-head is quite close. And, you know, the winner is happy and then the loser tries to find a way to beat him the next time, no? I think that’s exciting. That’s what I will try to do.”

Now Sinner will head to the grass court season as world number one for the first time in his career.

The Italian ended his press conference by stating that he is excited to go back to Wimbledon and will prepare by playing Halle, “I mean, you know, grass season is different. The preparation is different. You know, you use different muscles,” Sinner concluded.

“Let’s see how I play in Halle. Obviously Halle is completely different than Wimbledon, but it’s still grass. I’m looking forward to it. I mean, last year I had a great Wimbledon, so let’s see what I can do this year. I’m happy to come back and, yeah, and then we see how it goes.”

Halle starts on Monday 17th of June.

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending