Jannik Sinner Sees Room For Improvement After Indian Wells Loss To Alcaraz - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Jannik Sinner Sees Room For Improvement After Indian Wells Loss To Alcaraz

Published

on

Jannik Sinner – ATP Indian Wells 2024 (foto Ubitennis)

Jannik Sinner says his tennis was too predictable against Carlos Alcaraz after losing in the semi-finals of the BNP Paribas Open on Saturday. 

The Italian world No.3 entered the clash on a 19-match winning streak and looked to be on course to extending this tally after clinching the first set before defending champion Alcaraz came fighting back to win 1-6, 6-3, 6-2. It is the first time Sinner has been beaten this year with his last defeat occurring six months ago at the Shanghai Masters. 

“I was too predictable at some points. I was doing the same things over and over again, which in my mind let me down.” A reflective Sinner said afterwards.
“I was playing really good the first set. Then when you see your opponent struggling a little bit, I tried to stay solid instead of trying to move around.’
“I was too predictable at some points. I think that’s the lesson for today. We will work on certain things and hopefully I will get better.”

The Australian Open champion said his coach, Darren Cahill, also agreed that the tennis player’s predictability cost him in the match. Cahill is one of two people mentoring Sinner. The other is Simone Vagnozzi who wasn’t at Indian Wells this year. 

“I missed a lot of forehands where usually I try to be aggressive. I made the mistakes. We have to understand why and that’s it. I think it was still a great match. I think we both played really good. There were some entertaining rallies.”

Despite his defeat, the Italian will still be high in confidence given his start to the season which has seen him register 16 straight wins on the Tour. Since 1990, only Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Pete Sampras have enjoyed better starts to their seasons than him. 

Sinner will be hoping to bounce back at the Miami Masters which will get underway next week as long as he is physically fit to do so. Against Alcaraz, he was seen flexing his left leg, suffered a scare with his left wrist after having a tumble at the net and then said during his press conference that he felt his elbow a little bit as a result of that fall. 

“I’ve been positive throughout this winning streak. Even now because I lost in the semis of Indian Wells, which is still a great result.” He said. 
“The next tournament is Miami. So I’m focused already on Miami.’
“For sure it’s tough that it has to end like this here (in Indian Wells) because for me this is a really special place to play but I feel grateful for what I’m doing.”

Sinner’s loss to Alcaraz means he has missed out on the opportunity to rise to number two in the ATP rankings on Monday. 

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending