Andrey Rublev Ousts Bublik In Wimbledon Rollercoaster - UBITENNIS
Connect with us


Andrey Rublev Ousts Bublik In Wimbledon Rollercoaster



Andrey Rublev (RUS) - Credit: AELTC/Edward Whitaker

Andrey Rublev overcame an early injury scare and some furious serving from Alexander Bublik to seal a place in the quarter-finals of Wimbledon for the first time. 

The seventh seed battled his way to a 7-5, 6-3, 6-7(6), 6-7(5), 6-4, win over the Kazakh player to avenge his loss to him in the Halle final last month. Rublev’s latest triumph means he has now reached the last eight of every major tournament at least once in his career. An accolade that has only been achieved by eight other active players on the men’s tour. 

“I was just thinking it doesn’t matter, I lost the third set and fourth set. I said if I keep playing I would have one chance, and in the end I had it, played a really good volley and was able to break him,” said Rublev.
“Every set I had chances, on match point he served full power. I kept thinking just keep playing, don’t start to explode before the match is over. In the end I was able to make it.”

Early on in the match, Rublev took time a medical timeout for treatment for a cut on his finger. A couple of points after that he stopped in visible pain with blood coming from the area. Prompting the return of a doctor to the court. Despite that blip, the Russian held his nerve to prevail in a tightly contested opener. Leading 6-5, he clinched the set with the help of a Bublik malfunction after the world No.26 produced back-to-back double faults. 

Continuing to gain momentum, Bublik’s erratic shotmaking continued to play into the hands of Rublev who stormed through the second frame with relative ease. A three-game winning streak moved him to a 5-2 lead. Then tasked with serving the set out, he did so with the help of yet another unforced error from across the court. 

Closing the match out was a far from easy task for Rublev who was edged out on the third set tiebreaker. After working hard to claw his way back from a 3-6 deficit, Bublik struck once again with a blistering forehand passing shot to clinch the set. 

The cat-and-mouse chase continued into the fourth frame. Rublev had two match points whilst leading 5-4 but failed to convert both of them before going on to drop the second tiebreak.

With all to play for in this match of fine margins, all it took was a couple of Bublik mistakes midway through the decider for Rublev to break and eventually book his place in the next round after more than three hours of play. Although the most impressive point wasn’t the last one, it was the one that took place before. Bublik hit a speedy backhand shot that looked to be a winner before Rublev produced a sublime diving return.

“It was the most lucky shot ever! It was luck, nothing else. I don’t think I can do it one more time,” he said.

The 26-year-old now faces a possible showdown with seven-time champion Novak Djokovic in the next round. A player who he has beaten only once in their four previous encounters. Djokovic will play his fourth round match later today against Poland’s Hubert Hurkacz. 

Rublev has now won 35 Tour-level matches this season. Despite reaching the last eight in four out of his past five Grand Slam appearances, he is yet to contest a semi-final at this level.


Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two



Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading


Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket



The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.


Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.


Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.


Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at 

Continue Reading


Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open



Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading