Erratic Roger Federer Crashes Out Of US Open - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Erratic Roger Federer Crashes Out Of US Open

Published

on

Former World No. 1 and five-time champion Roger Federer crashed out of the US Open, losing 6-3, 5-7, 6-7, 6-7 to John Millman of Australia in the fourth round of the tournament on Tuesday. Throughout the match, Federer, who was making unusual choices in his stroke-play, appeared to be having some sort of issue with his health, but what eventually proved to be his undoing was the 76 unforced errors he committed in the match.  

Federer had a little bit of trouble in his opening service game as he faced a break point, but three successive fine serves got the 37-year-old through to a service hold. The 2nd seed then broke to love to take an early 2-0 lead before motoring through to a comfortable hold for 3-0. The Swiss had a chance for a double break in the 4th game, but Millman somehow managed to hang on to his serve to get on the scoreboard.

And even though the Australian’s level of play rose from there on, it was the maestro, who eventually took the first set 6-3 in 33 minutes with the assistance of three aces, 15 scintillating winners and by winning an incredible 87% points behind his first serve.

At the start of the second set, Federer produced perhaps the worst service hold of his career. He just couldn’t find a first serve, hitting an awful two out of 22, but still found a way to keep the set on serve in game No. 2. The Basel native then had two break points in the next game to take a firm grip on the proceedings inside the Arthur Ashe Stadium, but failed to capitalize as Millman surged ahead to a 2-1 lead.

However, Millman couldn’t sustain his high level of play for long, as Federer continued to put pressure on his serve with his aggressive stroke-making from the baseline. The Swiss got the crucial break after another marathon game before consolidating it, with Federer closing out with a powerful overhead winner at the net.

But the set wasn’t over then and there as Millman broke back in the 10th game, denying Federer the chance to take a two set to love lead in the contest. The set took another dramatic turn as the Aussie broke Federer once again in the 12th game to put the match on an even keel at a set apiece. The great man’s struggles with his first serve continued as he simply couldn’t find any sort of timing and rhythm on his first delivery.

Millman continued from where he left of in the second set as he started the third set with a good hold. On the contrary, Federer’s troubles with his first serve remained as he continued to labor through his service holds. Yet, Federer was able to up the tempo when he needed to as he somehow survived the Millman onslaught to take it to a tie-breaker.

As you have heard many times, fortune generally favors the brave and it was Millman, who was brave enough to take the game to Federer as he came back from a mini-break and a set point down to claim set No. 3. By just about squeezing his way in the breaker, Millman took a decisive two set to one lead in the match.

With both players playing a little conservatively at the beginning of the fourth set, somebody needed to step-up or go off the boil and that is exactly what happened to Millman. Suddenly the breakthrough that Federer needed came in the sixth game and it came following a couple of unforced errors from Millman as Roger secured the break to gain momentum and a 4-2 lead. But, Millman broke back immediately in the next game before quickly leveling it at 4-4 by holding on to his serve with the utmost ease.

The steely resolve of Millman, eventually took the set into a tiebreak. And in the tiebreaker, Federer’s serve completely went off as he served back-to-back double faults, something which nobody had seen from Federer in a long, long time. In fact, Federer made six consecutive uncharacteristic errors to offer Millman five match points. And, Millman did indeed achieve the biggest win of his career when Federer committed another error, sending a forehand long to end the match in three hours and thirty four minutes.

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending