Tomas Berdych: “Really the way I played today was pretty bad to be successful today” - UBITENNIS
Connect with us


Tomas Berdych: “Really the way I played today was pretty bad to be successful today”



TENNIS 2014 ROLAND GARROS – 3rd of June. E. Gulbis d. T. Berdych 6-3, 6-2, 6-4. An interview with Tomas Berdych

Q. Can you speak about what happened today? You played very well in the fourth round, and today was very difficult for you. Can you explain what happened?

TOMAS BERDYCH: Well, exactly like you said. You know, maybe not only fourth round, but today was really different day and really different story. With the way I played today, I really couldn’t even possibly think that I can make that match and I can win, because really the way I played today was pretty bad to be successful today.


Q. Do you have some explanation about that?

TOMAS BERDYCH: No. I mean, it’s really about to review that and sit down with the coaches, how was it, what was going on. You know, it’s really too soon after the match to really know what happened.

But, you know, it’s the tennis. I mean, the tournament lasts for two weeks. This is the fifth match in those days. Really, for the best ones you really need to be ready for all those two weeks.

If you have a day like that, then you really have no chance to come for the good results.


Q. You talked about the top guys and you have to bring your best against the top guys. Gulbis was not really to be called a top guy. What do you think makes the difference in him? Is he now better than before, or was it just he played good today?

TOMAS BERDYCH: No, I mean, he’s improving or he improves a lot. Definitely he does.

I mean, he starts to work and he starts to do what he needs to do. He’s trying to show that he’s not only the guy with a good potential, but he’s really the guy who can bring it up and play some good tennis.

Yeah, on the other hand, of course it was not my best day. It was not the day that I would, you know, be enough to, you know, stay with him and, you know, push him into the tough situations.

But, yeah, he handled it quite well.


Q. You had difficulties with your serve. It was because of Ernests or the conditions?

TOMAS BERDYCH: Well, of course it’s always because of the other guy, you know. Or    yeah, it’s also because of him, and I would say mostly because of me.

I mean, the serve is starting from my hand. If you’re going to serve well, then no matter who is on the other side you are the first who hits the ball. I think that’s the explanation.

No, he’s the one who makes you feel under pressure serving well, returning well. That’s it.


Q. Sometimes it seems if your game doesn’t work you don’t want to like just keep the ball in play; is that right? Is it too boring for you? You like playing longer rallies, higher over the net, or is it completely crazy the question I put?

TOMAS BERDYCH: Well, it’s a question. You can ask whatever you want.

I don’t know why I should do that. I mean, that’s not the way that I am used to play, that I used to do in the matches.

I definitely need to find my rhythm if I don’t have it, but not with the way that I’m going to putting the balls up and try to run there like a rabbit side to side.

You know, that’s something like if you would probably ask Rafa to serve and volley and, you know, if he feels it’s boring and why he doesn’t do that, you know.

That’s definitely the same thing. No, I think every player has their own style and needs to deal with that and try to bring his best.


Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two



Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading


Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket



The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.


Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.


Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.


Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at 

Continue Reading


Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open



Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading