Alexander Zverev Overcomes Alcaraz, Injury Scare At ATP Finals - UBITENNIS
Connect with us


Alexander Zverev Overcomes Alcaraz, Injury Scare At ATP Finals



Two-time champion Alexander Zverev has claimed his first win of the season over Carlos Alcaraz despite jarring his left leg midway through the third set of their match at the ATP Finals. 

The world No.8 rallied back from a set down to prevail 6-7(3), 6-3, 6-4, over the two-time Grand Slam winner who is making his debut in the competition this year. During what was a scrappy encounter for both players, Zverev hit 33 winners past Alzaraz and capitalized on the Spaniard’s unforced error count of 28. Besides the patchy play in Turin, Zverev also suffered an injury scare late in the match but managed to regroup and seal victory. 

“I think my serve helped me a lot,” Zverev said during his on-court interview. 
“Saving a break point in the first game of the second set helped me. You don’t want to go down a set and a break to the number two player in the world.’
“I’m happy with the turnaround. It’s always nice to beat the best players in the world and he’s definitely one of them. It’s special to win on this court again.”

Alcaraz, who hadn’t drop a set against Zverev in their two previous meetings earlier this year, was put through his paces throughout a topsy-turvy 65-minute opening set. The world No.2 found himself a break down just three games into the match before eventually battling back to draw level at 3-3. Then in the following game, he saved a trio of break points to move ahead. Despite those mini-victories, Alcaraz was still unable to tame Zverev who fended off three set points when down down 5-6 to force a tiebreak. 

In the tiebreak, it was a case of fine margins with one point proving decisive to the outcome. An Alcaraz backhand return forced his opponent to make an unforced error which granted him a mini break to move ahead 4-2. This time, he was able to capitalize on the lead as he closed out the opening set after another Zverev mistake. 

Alcaraz appeared to be gaining momentum at the start of the second frame when he worked his way to another break point opportunity but a lull in form paved the way for Zverev to begin his comeback. He claimed a three-game winning streak en route to a 5-2 lead before taking proceedings into a decider with a love service game.

With all to play for, Zverev sustained an injury scare after breaking for a 3-2 lead in the third set. Chasing after a shot, he jarred his left ankle which resulted in him falling and letting out a scream. Prompting flashbacks to his French Open clash with Nadal where he injured his right ankle and subsequently was sidelined from action for months. Despite the scare, he held his nerve to seal the victory after two-and-a-half hours of play.

“I didn’t twist my ankle. I kind of slipped and pinched my Achilles a little bit,” Zverev replied when asked about the fall. “It was a little bit of a nervy pain for a while but I don’t think any damage has been done.” 
“We will see when it settles down but it’s nothing compared to what happened in Paris.” He added. 

It is the first time in Zverev’s career that he has won a match at the ATP Finals after losing the opening set. He will play Daniil Medvedev and Andrey Rublev later in the week. 


Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two



Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading


Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket



The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.


Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.


Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.


Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at 

Continue Reading


Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open



Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading