Jannik Sinner Says Change Of Tactics Was Key To Beating Alcaraz In Miami - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Jannik Sinner Says Change Of Tactics Was Key To Beating Alcaraz In Miami

Published

on

Jannik Sinner at the Miami Open, photo by Vanni Gibertin

Jannik Sinner believes a new game plan against Carlos Alcaraz was pivotal in his win over the current world No.1 at the Miami Open but the Italian is reluctant to share any details with the wider world.

The world No.11 ousted Alcaraz 6-7(4), 6-4, 6-2, in what was an electrifying encounter at the Hard Rock Stadium where both players produced some of their best tennis. Overall there were 49 winners in the match with 27 of those coming from Sinner who also won 63% of his service points. There were numerous gut-busting rallies which illustrated the athleticism of the two players in what is becoming a formidable rivalry in men’s tennis. 

“For sure it’s one of the best wins (of my career). It was a very tough match against him. I think we both played a very high-level match,” Sinner said during his press conference.
“From my side, I think I changed a couple of things from Indian Wells to here, which I had to, and they went my way. So I’m happy about that.”

Pressed about what exactly it was that he has changed since their last meeting earlier this month, the 21-year-old refused to shed light on the tactics that he created with the help of his team. He is coached on the Tour by Darren Cahill who has previously worked with the likes of Simona Halep and Andre Agassi. 

“I don’t say what but we changed something. I think he (Alcaraz) recognized it and the next time he’s gonna also change something, so I have to be prepared for this. But I’m not gonna say what exactly we changed,” he said. 

In their head-to-head on the ATP Tour, they are now level at 3-3. Although Sinner’s latest win is a case of sweet revenge for him after losing to the Spaniard in their two previous meetings. Furthermore, it is the first time in his career he has defeated a world No.1 player. Alcaraz will lose his top position to Novak Djokovic on Monday as a result of his latest loss. 

It is the second year in a row that Sinner has reached the final in Miami. In 2022 he became the first Italian finalist in the tournament’s 37-year-old history but missed out on the title to Hubert Hurkacz. 

In this year’s final he faces Daniil Medvedev who has already recorded 28 wins in 2023 and claimed three titles. Sinner, who is seeking his maiden Masters 1000 title, has lost all five of his previous encounters against the Russian. However, this will be the first time the two have clashed on an outside court. 

“I have to find the right way to win against Daniil. If it’s not this time, hopefully, there are many other times,”  he commented. 
“But I feel ready to compete. I think I have done something new in this tournament and a couple of things are working very well.”

Sinner is only the third man in history to reach multiple Miami finals before the age of 22. The other two to achieve this benchmark are Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. 

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending