Injured Rafael Nadal Stunned By McDonald At Australian Open - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Injured Rafael Nadal Stunned By McDonald At Australian Open

A huge shock has occured at Melbourne Park with the 23-time Grand Slam winner crashing out in the second round.

Published

on

Image via Australian Open Twitter

There are fresh injury concerns for Rafael Nadal after he crashed out of the Australian Open in straight sets to world No.65 Mackenzie McDonald. 

The defending champion was far from his best early on in the match before suffering an injury blow towards the later stages of the second set as he succumbed to a 6-4, 6-4, 7-5, loss to the American. A player who had previously only defeated a top-10 player once in his career. Nadal’s loss is his earliest exit from the Australian Open since 2016 when he lost in the first round. 

The top seed was trailing 4-6, 3-5, to McDonald before seeking a medial timeout. Towards the end of the second set, Nadal was seen walking gingerly around the court and after one point crouched down in pain. The pain looked to have been coming from the left side of his hip or groin region. Shortly afterwards, he sought medical treatment and left the court.

Returning to action, Nadal initially continued and held serve to begin with. However, he was unable to prevent McDonald from sealing the second set after the Spaniard hit a forehand into the net. Prompting a despondent look from the 23-time Grand Slam champion at the change of end.

The dynamic of the encounter on Rod Laver Arena became more of a mind game in the third frame with McDonald trying to achieve one of the biggest wins of his career against somebody he knows is physically far from their best. Admirbally Nadal continued to fight and produced occasional glimpses of his best tennis by saving a break point at 4-4. However, a couple games later he looked to be in pain once again as McDonald hilt a backhand slice down the line to break for a chance to serve the match out. A task he passed with flying colours after hitting a serve out wide which Nadal returned into the net on match point.   

“He’s an incredible champion and he’s never going to give up regardless of the situation,” McDonald said.
“I was trying to stay so focused on what I was doing and he kind of got me out of the rhythm of that.”

Leading up to the injury, Nadal was in trouble during the match and struggled to find the usual consistency in his shot-making. In the opening set, he was broken in two out of his first three service games. Then in a roller-coaster second set, he bounced back from a break down by winning three games in a row before being broken once again before his body betrayed him.

The setback comes after what has been a frustrating start to 2023 for the 36-year-old. At the United Cup, he failed to win a match after suffering defeats to Cameron Norrie and Alex de Minaur. He last won back-to-back matches at the US Open last September. 

Meanwhile, McDonald has recorded his first-ever victory over a top-five player at a Grand Slam and his 17th main draw victory in a major overall. He will play either Czech qualifier Dalibor Svrčina or Yoshihito Nishioka in the next round. 

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending