Miami Open winner Carlos Alcaraz brought back down to earth after Monte Carlo loss - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Miami Open winner Carlos Alcaraz brought back down to earth after Monte Carlo loss

After winning the Miami Open, Carlos Alcaraz was hit with reality after an early exit in Monte-Carlo.

Published

on

Carlos Alcaraz (@marioboc17 - Twitter)

Opinion – James Spencer (Twitter – @jspencer28)

18-year-old sensation Carlos Alcaraz would have been living on cloud nine after his shock triumph a fortnight ago at the Miami Open.

The Spaniard has quickly become the talk of the town on the ATP Tour with many experts within the game calling him the next Roger Federer.

Some have even called him the ‘mini-Nadal’ after idol and countryman Rafa Nadal.

It’s no secret that Alcaraz admires the record 21 Grand Slam champion.

He has even bulked up in the last year to model a new muscley physique, with better all-round fitness and he’s now hitting through the ball with supreme power.

The hard work in the gym and on the tour has clearly paid off as Alcaraz tore through the draw in Miami with impressive wins against the likes of established players Stefanos Tsitsipas and Hubert Hurkacz.

This was topped off with victory in the final against the current world number seven Casper Rudd.

He has shown maturity beyond his years.

https://www.instagram.com/p/Cb58CrVgfi7/

However, he was brought back down to earth this week in Monte Carlo.

21-year-old Sebastian Korda was able to inflict defeat on the teenager, in the battle of the two biggest young stars tennis has on offer right now.

The American came through in the round of 32, 7-6 (7-2), 6-7 (5-7), 6-3.

Of course, it was a close match, where Alcaraz was lucky to escape from Alcatraz in the second set.

But the premise is that, he will be disappointed to go out at the first hurdle, particularly when so much is expected of him now.

Being one of the youngest ever Masters 1000 winners, let alone the youngest ever in Miami, will have added a lot of weight on his young shoulders.

So, in some small way, this loss is not a surprise.

Another disappointment would be that with Nadal being the King of Clay, and reigning supreme in the principality on so many occasions, his absence with a rib injury would have been the perfect occasion for Alcaraz to step out of his shadow.

For sure Alcaraz will be keen to take his mantle in Barcelona next week, a home tournament for the youngster as well.

With the main show-court named Pista Rafael Nadal,this is yet further motivation for the El Palmar native to do well there.

Having reached the semis at Indian Wells and losing to his idol, and backing this up with a superb victory in Miami, only time will tell if Alcaraz can master clay as quickly as he has mastered hard courts.

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending