Bernard Tomic Vows To Continue Legal Fight Against Wimbledon Fine - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Bernard Tomic Vows To Continue Legal Fight Against Wimbledon Fine

There appears to be no let up in the legal dispute despite the Grand Slam Board refusing to change their mind over the fine.

Published

on

Australia’s Bernard Tomic has accused officials of ‘mocking him’ after his appeal against a fine handed to him at the Wimbledon Championships was rejected.

Tomic was docked £45,000 following his first round loss to Jo-Wilfried Tsonga at The All England Club for a lack of effort. Winning only seven games during the 58-minute match. The penalty means that he has been stripped of all the money he would have received for playing in the opening round of the grand slam. Something Tomic firmly denies as he blamed the performance on him feeling unwell.

“Flying from Turkey and losing in [the] quarter-finals [there], playing few matches in 40C heat and I was run down and became a bit unwell over the weekend,” Tomic told News Corp on July 7th.
“I then competed with one of the top five players on grass, losing 6-2, 6-1, 6-4. I didn’t lose 6-0, 6-0, 6-0.
“From the start of the match I knew I had very little chance because I was feeling down but I thought I would go on court to try [because] it’s Wimbledon.”

An appeal was then launched against the fine by Tomic, who was informed last week he was unsuccessful. Bill Babcock , who is the director of the Grand Slam Board, sent a letter detailing the explanation. In it, he criticised the behaviour of the world No.106.

“A review of your historical record of misconduct at grand slams, never mind elsewhere, provides little justification for an adjustment,” Babcock wrote.

As a compromise, Tomic was told he could be reimbursed 25% of the fine if he shows good behaviour at the next eight grand slam tournaments. Although Bobcock took a swipe at that proposal.

“Admittingly, I am sceptical that you can achieve this reform of grand slam on-court behaviour. Many others, no doubt, would be even more than just sceptical.”

Not the end

Responding to the decision, the 26-year-old has confirmed that he will continue to pursue legal action. Saying the rejection of his appeal was ‘mocking him.’ Other players have also sided with Tomic in the dispute. Both Nick Kyrgios and Novak Djokovic have said that the fine issued to him was too severe. Meanwhile, Tsonga described the penalty as ‘a bit too much.’

“They’re sort of mocking me with what they’re saying,” Tomic said.
“I don’t need 25 per cent in two years.
“I don’t need the money. It’s about what’s right.
“It’s not fair that I’ve been given one of the biggest fines in grand slam history when I didn’t receive one code violation in the match.
“I told them after the match that I was feeling unwell.”

It is unclear as to what the next step will be for the former top 20 player. Although he has said any money he wins in an appeal will be given to charity.

“I am taking legal advice on this. Any prize money that I get back, I’ll give to children charities in Australia.” he stated.

Since the fine, Tomic has played two tournaments on the tour. At the Winnipeg Challenger, where he was the top seed, Tomic lost in the third round. Then at the Hall of Fame Championships in Newport, he lost in the first round to Ilya Ivashka.

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending