Andy Murray, Roger Federer And Serena Williams Included In Wimbledon Entry Lists

Some familiar faces will be making a long-awaiting return at the tournament this year.

Andy Murray, Roger Federer And Serena Williams Included In Wimbledon Entry Lists

The provisional entry lists for the upcoming Wimbledon Championships have been announced with the potential return of some of the sports biggest stars following their absence from the tour.

In the men’s draw, Andy Murray has been included in the field. The former world No.1 hasn’t played a match on the tour since his run to the quarter-finals at SW18 last year. Murray has been sidelined from the tour due to a hip injury, which required surgery in January. The Brit is aiming to return to action at the Start of June by playing in Rosmalen prior to the Fever-Tree Championships in London.

Roger Federer will be bidding to win a record ninth Wimbledon title. Like Murray the world No.2 is missing the clay season with the goal of returning next month. Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal are also down on the entry list.

Two players who will miss next week’s French Open, Milos Raonic and Hyeon Chung, are also down to play in the grass-court major. Raonic is currently dealing with a knee injury. Meanwhile, Chung has been sidetracked due to a persistent ankle injury.

Serena Williams will feature in the women’s draw as speculation mounts if she will be seeded in the tournament. The seven-time champion missed the event last year due to pregnancy. It will be her 18th appearance in the main draw of the tournament. To date, she has won 86 out of 96 matches played at SW19.

Maria Sharapova is set to return venue for the first time in three years. She missed the 2016 tournament due to a doping suspension and then withdrew from last year because of a muscle injury. It was at Wimbledon, where Sharapova won her first major title at the age of 17 back in 2004.

Every member of the top 20 are currently set to play at Wimbledon this year in the women’s draw.

The Wimbledon championships will get underway on July 2nd. Garbine Muguruza and Federer are the reigning champions in the singles competitions.

Share This