Fearless Feliciano Lopez Saves Match Point To Become The King Of Queen’s - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Fearless Feliciano Lopez Saves Match Point To Become The King Of Queen’s

Published

on

LONDON: The dream has turned into a reality for Spain’s Feliciano Lopez after he outlasted Marin Cilic 4-6, 7-6(2), 7-6(8), in a two-and-a-half thriller to clinch his maiden title at The Queen’s Club in London.

Sunday’s triumph was a fairytale come true for the 35-year-old. He recently spoke about his love for the tournament and how he dreamt of lifting the trophy as a small child.

“When I was younger, I was watching Queen’s all the time, and it’s one of those tournaments that you always want to play.” Lopez said yesterday.

During what was a clash of the tennis titans, both men displayed the superiority of their service skills. 41 aces occurred throughout the match (22 for Cilic and 19 for Lopez) as both men won more than three quarters of their first service points.

It initially seemed as if the title would be going in Cilic’s direction after the way the first set ended. With Lopez serving 4-5 down, two consecutive forehand errors elevated the Croat to the 6-4 lead. Still, the Spaniard remained defiant in front of the London crowd, who cheered him on as if he was one of their own players. Serving to stay in the match at 5-6 in the second set. A massive cheer erupted after Lopez took the proceedings into a tiebreaker. The cheers were what guided Lopez to seal the tiebreaker with ease against a faltering Cilic.

With 500 ATP points and 395,690 euros at stake, the decider stunned and amazed all. Neither player refused to budge, prompting what turned out to be one of the greatest tiebreakers ever witnessed at the tournament.

Overcoming a time violation, Cilic was the first to earn a championship point in the tiebreaker with an ace. The opportunity was quickly quashed by a masterful Lopez volley at the net. Two points later it was Lopez’s turn to have a championship point, before being denied by an Cilic ace. Nevertheless, the title was written in the stars for Lopez. Leading 9-8, a forehand error from the fourth seed secured him his first Queen’s title on his 12th attempt.
 
“I can not believe that I have finally won this trophy. I have been waiting for so long, 15 or 16 years to be here holding this trophy.” A delighted Lopez said during his post-match interview.
“I thought by the end of the tiebreak after losing a match point I was not going to be able to make it. I was a little bit lucky at the end today.”

Fulfilling one of his childhood dreams, Lopez has now won 72 matches on the grass. It is the third highest total for an active player after Andy Murray (102) and Roger Federer (156).

Continue Reading
Click to comment

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending