Rafael Nadal's journey comes to an unexpected early end at the US Open - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Rafael Nadal’s journey comes to an unexpected early end at the US Open

Published

on

The warning signs were there in his secound round encounter against Diego Schwartzman. Nadal had prevailed but his tennis was anything but convincing and he didn’t look like a man capable of taking on the biggest names in New York this week.

For the third time this season, Fogning found the key to overcoming Nadal but this time round it came in the most unexpected fashion: Nadal was two sets up to the good and 3-1 in the third. Somehow though the script was far from written as Fognini rallied back to win 3-6, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4.

Until halfway through the third set Nadal was showing some of his best tennis, with strong groundstrokes and an effective serve. The latter and his backhand being a good thermometer to gauge just how confident the Majorcan is with his play. After then though the two-time US Open champion was again hindered by a worrying inconsistency which has burdened his tennis all year long and lost a two set lead for a first time in his career.

Talking of inconsistency, on the other side of the net was Fabio Fognini, who is known for throwing in the towel when the going gets tough but, for some reason, playing the Spaniard has brought out the best of the Italian who has also suffered a somewhat erratic campaign. Fognini started taking the ball on early and returning Nadal’s serve deep, which was making life increasingly difficult for him.

As the match headed into the fifth set, few could predict that a man of Nadal’s tenacity was going to let a two set lead escape. The final set was a nail-biting experience, with seven consecutive breaks of serve in what was a rollercoaster of emotions. Fognini stepped up to the baseline at 5-4 serving for the match. Would he buckle under the pressure or would he keep his composure to serve out the biggest win of his career? The Italian didn’t faulter, silencing many critics who have questioned his mental strength and thereby putting an end to Nadal’s quest, making it the first time in ten years that the Spaniard doesn’t win a grand slam in a season.

Nadal walked off the court with his head down after what has to be one of the toughest defeats of his career given how it unravelled and also how it represents yet another set back in his comeback. Once a champion, always a champion, Nadal admitted after the clash that he will “work passionately to improve”.

The whole of tennis world hopes to see him soon where he belongs, back at the very top, for he took this sport into another dimension and for that alone, he deserves the credit and benefit of the doubt until the day he hangs up

NEW YORK, NY - SEPTEMBER 04: Rafael Nadal of Spain reacts against Fabio Fognini of Italy on Day Five of the 2015 US Open at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on September 4, 2015 in the Flushing neighborhood of the Queens borough of New York City. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images) ORG XMIT: 571780395 ORIG FILE ID: 486673052

NEW YORK, NY – SEPTEMBER 04: Rafael Nadal of Spain reacts against Fabio Fognini of Italy on Day Five of the 2015 US Open at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on September 4, 2015 in the Flushing neighborhood of the Queens borough of New York City. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images) ORG XMIT: 571780395 ORIG FILE ID: 486673052

his racket.

Continue Reading
1 Comment

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending