Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini: “I have very good sensation Davis Cup, but this one, I mean, we won a Grand Slam title. Is a big thing” - UBITENNIS
Connect with us

ATP

Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini: “I have very good sensation Davis Cup, but this one, I mean, we won a Grand Slam title. Is a big thing”

Published

on

TENNIS AUSTRALIAN OPEN – 1st of February 2015. Bolelli/Fognini d. Mahut/Herbert 6-4, 6-4. An interview with Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini

Q. The first Italian win in a men’s double final in more than 50 years. Talk about what this win means for Italian tennis.

SIMONE BOLELLI: Well, is a very good win. Do this with Fabio is unbelievable. I think we did something amazing. Maybe we didn’t realize what we made today, but maybe tomorrow we’re going to realize better. For our nation, for our Federation, for the people follow us, who support us, all Italian people, I think we made a very good things. When we were on court, me and Fabio, I think we have a very good relationship. This is very important things when you play doubles because you’re not alone on court. We play many times. Maybe two, three years that we play almost together every doubles. We play very good matches also in Davis Cup. Now I think we’re thinking about the ATP Finals is one of our goal.

Q. You’re both great singles players. Is it a surprise to have this billing success come in doubles suddenly?

SIMONE BOLELLI: Yeah, we are surprised. Obviously we are a single player and then we play doubles with second priority. Let’s say like this. When we are out of the single, obviously we try to do our best also in doubles. Is very important for our confidence, for improve our game. So I think now we’re going to play more matches.

Q. So you’re practicing with Errani and Vinci?

FABIO FOGNINI: We play men. Woman tennis is different.

Q. Is it your biggest success in your career?

SIMONE BOLELLI: Yeah, I think one of the best moment in my career, for sure. I have very good sensation Davis Cup, but this one, I mean, we won a Grand Slam title. Is a big thing.

Q. And for you, Fabio?

FABIO FOGNINI: For sure is something that is completely different when you won a tournament. Yeah, the feeling is great because you won tournament, but now we talking about Grand Slam. Even if it’s doubles and you say, okay, our priority, it’s singles, but we have to recognize we won a Grand Slam. It’s not everything like you can win every day or every year, so at the moment we are really happy. We would like to enjoy this trophy as soon as we can. Of course tomorrow is going to be another day. We going to try — we going to work for another thing and do our best on singles. Of course, Simone say that the goal now is going to be the ATP Finals in London if it’s still in London. Of course we have to work on singles first, and then when we have the chance to play doubles, especially in the 1000 event, of course we are going to try to do our best on that. It’s everything in our hands now. It’s a big tournament. It’s 2000 points. We have to recognize we have a chance to go to the ATP Tour Final.

Q. After this controversial point in the opening game of the second set, you were so angry with the French players.

SIMONE BOLELLI: We were right. I mean, the umpire make the unbelievable mistake. He realize it after, but after was too late.

FABIO FOGNINI: Is the truth that the chair umpire recognize the mistake.

SIMONE BOLELLI: Yeah, was really clear.

FABIO FOGNINI: Even if he make a mistake, he recognize after. The first time happen in my life. Sometimes I have the problem with the chair umpire.

Q. What did he say to you?

FABIO FOGNINI: No, he say sorry. My coach went there.

SIMONE BOLELLI: I mean, they saw the video.

FABIO FOGNINI: They saw the video later. The supervisor, he say to me I was right. So I am happy. One of the first time that he say that.

Q. How do you celebrate tonight?

FABIO FOGNINI: He have the wife (laughter). No, for sure we going to celebrate. I mean, we have to change. Maybe some party for sure.

SIMONE BOLELLI: Yeah, drink. I don’t know.

FABIO FOGNINI: And tomorrow we fly back.

Q. Will you play together in the next tournaments?

SIMONE BOLELLI: We’re going to play Davis Cup, Indian Wells, and Miami. February no, because I play indoor Europe, he play South America. But then all slam, all Masters, for sure.

Q. Fabio, do you feel like you’re walking in the footsteps of Flavia Pennetta? Do you feel like you’re following her?

FABIO FOGNINI: Is the first thing I have to say that I won something like her, because she won 10 tournaments. I won only three. She was top 10; I was 13. I was asleep, but is one thing we are tight.

ATP

Jack Draper Wins In Stuttgart, Potentially Faces Andy Murray in Round Two

Published

on

Jack Draper – ATP Monaco di Baviera 2024 (foto via Twitter @atptour)

Britain’s Jack Draper tight first round win headlined the opening day’s results at the Boss Open 2024 in Stuttgart – and possibly faces a second-round match with Andy Murray who takes on Marcos Giron tomorrow.

Less than 24 hours from the last ball being hit at Roland Garros, the ATP Tour had already switched surfaces onto the grass, and 22-year-old Draper was well tested but ultimately came through in two tie-breakers over Sebastian Ofner.

The sixth seed’s 7-6, 7-6 win contained just one break of serve each, both coming in the second set, as serve dominated proceedings on the faster grass courts in Germany.

While the Austrian won 75% on his first serve, Draper won a whopping 89% behind his first delivery as well as hitting eight aces. These kind of service stats will surely take him far during the grass court season.

“I thought it was a really good match,” Eurosport quoted Draper saying after his match. 
“Both of us played really clean tennis, executing really well.
“When it came down to it, I’m glad I competed really well and got over the line – it’s good to be back on the grass as well.”

There were also wins for Germany’s Yannick Hanfmann who won 6-3, 6-3 over wildcard Henri Squire, while compatriot Dominik Koepfer won in three sets over China’s Zhizhen Zhang 4-6, 7-6, 7-6. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Carlos Alcaraz Still Owns A Magical Racket

Published

on

The legend of Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket lives on.

The 21-year-old Spaniard executed one magical shot after another with his racket and legs  Sunday afternoon in the French Open final. That bit of magic spelled defeat for Germany’s Alexander Zverev.

This was a final to remember, one of the great matches of all the Grand Slams. It just wasn’t in the cards for the 26-year-old Zverev to finally win a Grand Slam title.

HE HAD IT, THEN HE DIDN’T

Both players seemed to play a game of “he had it and then he didn’t.”

Alcaraz appeared to have everything under control in the first set, but Zverev rushed through the second set and then made a comeback from 5-2 down in the third set to win five straight games.

Zverev had everything going for him when he started the fourth set with a two-set advantage. It appeared that all the 6-6 Zverev had to do was to continue playing his masterful game of big serves and mighty ground strokes.

But Zverev couldn’t get started in the fourth set until he was down 4-0. So much for a smooth and easy ride to a Grand Slam title. By then, the magic of Alcaraz was heating up.

MAGIC OF ALCARAZ HEATING UP

Zverev still had his chances, even when he fell behind 2-1 in the fifth set. He had to feel pretty good about his chances when he took a triple break point lead against Alcaraz’s serve and appeared ready to even the set at 2-2. Even after Carlos came up with a winner to bring the  game score to double break point.

Zverev still was ready to even the entire match.

That’s when everything seemed to go haywire for the German, while all the while, Alcaraz was able to repeatedly come up with his magical shots as the Spaniard made critical shots that looked almost impossible to make.

ALCARAZ HEADED FOR GREATNESS

Everything for Zverev was lost in the magical racket of Alcaraz.

What was then initially called a game-ending Alcaraz double fault and a 2-2 deadlock quicky reversed itself and Alcaraz stayed alive by winning the next three points while taking a 3-1 advantage.

Zverev did get back to a 3-2 deficit and had a break point in the sixth game, but that was it for the hopes of Zverev. The last two games went rather easily in favor of Alcaraz to wrap up a 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2 victory for Alcaraz.

That moved the Spaniard to a higher level of success on the ATP Tour. He became the youngest man to win Grand Slam titles on all of the different surfaces, clay, grass and hard courts.

Carlos Alcaraz and his magical racket appear to be headed for greatness.

James Beck was the 2003 winner of the USTA National Media Award  for print media. A 1995 MBA graduate of The Citadel, he can be reached at Jamesbecktennis@gmail.com. 

Continue Reading

ATP

Tsitsipas Brothers Hit With Trio Of Fines At French Open

Published

on

Stefanos Tsitsipas and his brother Petros have been fined more than 20,000 euros for multiple violations of the coaching rules at this year’s French Open. 

The brothers received a financial penalty during three different matches that they played in. Two of those were in the second and third rounds of the men’s doubles tournament. Furthermore, Stefanos was also penalised during his singles quarter-final match against Carlos Alcaraz, which he lost in straight sets. According to French newspaper L’Equipe, all three of those fines were issued as a result of coaching rules being broken.

Ironically, coaching is allowed during matches at the French Open but certain rules must be followed. ‘Verbal’ coaching can only be issued from the coaches and their team if they are sitting in the designated player’s box. Instructions must be limited to a few words and can only be given if the player is in the same half of the court as their coach. Although non-verbal coaching is allowed regardless of what side the player is on. Finally, players can’t start a conversation with their coach unless it is during a medical break, a bathroom break or when their opponent is changing clothes.

However, the Tsitsipas brothers have been found in violation of these rules, which is likely due to their animated father in the stands who is also their coach. Apostolos Tsitsipas has been given coaching violations in the past at other events, including the 2022 Australian Open. 

The value of the fines are €4,600 and €9,200 for the Tsitsipas brothers in the doubles, as well as an additional €7,400 just for Stefanos in the singles. In total, the value of their fines is €21,200. However, the penalty is unlikely to have an impact on the duo whose combined earnings for playing in this year’s French Open amount to roughly €495,000. 

So far in the tournament, the highest single fine to be issued this year was against Terence Atmane who hit a ball out of frustration that struck a fan in the stands. Atmane, who later apologised for his actions, managed to avoid getting disqualified from the match. Instead, he was fined €23,000. 

Continue Reading

Trending